Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review:July 1-8, 2012

In My Mailbox

Long Night Dance by Betsy James, which I have just begun reading today. I received books two and three in the Seeker Chronicles from Paperback Swap ages ago, so I’m excited to finally be able to make my way through this trilogy. It’s been so long since I read the review that first made me interested in these books that I forget who did the recommending, but a big thanks to whomever you are! I am a sucker for books about selkies (see Franny Billingsley’s The Folk Keeper if you are interested in other titles).

Library Loot:

Devine Intervention by Martha Brockenbrough (I picked this book up on a whim, thinking I could do with a funny sort of story. It was a bit too silly for me, though, and it has sadly ended up on my abandoned book list.)

Keeping the Castle by Patricia Kindl  (Is it predictable if you have read a Jane Austen book or two? Yes, but I did laugh quite a bit. Fans of Austen or Georgette Heyer ought to give it a go.)

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson  (I thought some things were done well, like Taylor’s burgeoning relationship with her dad in the last months of his life, but most of the characters had more in common  with cardboard cutouts than real people. Does not distinguish itself from the plethora of YA cancer books available.)

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler (I am finally getting my hands on this book — it has been checked out pretty much since the library got it in.)

From the top of towering Mt. TBR:
  • Masque of Red Death by Bethany Griffin
  • Fairest by Gail Carson Levine
  • Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: