Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review: April 15-22 2012

Hello, friends! It’s been a good long while since I’ve done one of these posts, but never has a week been so full of exciting book AND music happenings that I couldn’t help but share with you all.

Insuregent in the Wild!

So I was on my way to checkout at my local Meijer store when I thought I’d have a look at their book section, seeing as I had been such a good girl the day before at Barnes & Noble and had not purchased anything, though that copy of 172 Hours on the Moon was fairly calling my name. I was giving their YA section a casual glance when what did I spy, but a copy of Veronica Roth’s Insurgent! Needless to say, I was more than a bit shocked to see it hanging out ever so casually on the shelf next to its precursor, Divergent, considering it isn’t to be released until May 1st. I felt a bit guilty that I would have a chance to read it before so many other people, but let me tell you, dear readers, that guilt lasted for about one second before I threw that baby in my cart and raced home to devour it. Review will definitely be coming along for this one after I’ve had some time to mull over it.

In My Mailbox:

Some delightful things came my way via the post. Through Paperback Swap, I received a copy of Franny Billingsley’s lovely novel The Folk Keeper to sit alongside my beloved Chime. If you enjoy reading about a certain certain underused Scottish mythological creature (and I’m not talking about Nessie), give this book a go. It’s sure to please.

I’ve heard from several sources that Patricia A. McKillip’s Riddle Master trilogy is one to try, but I’ve been put off by the rather . . . unfortunate covers (the seventies were not kind to fantasy novels, not kind at all). Thank goodness for the omnibus edition of the trilogy that I finally got through Paperback Swap. I can deal with its slight water-damage  and tanned pages, but those original covers were It may have some water damage and tanned pages, but that’s nothing in comparison with the shame that would come from reading the individual books in public . . .

For about the last month, I’ve been in somewhat of a reading slump and it all boiled down to the fact that I read an awesome review of Saundra Mitchell’s The Springsweet, which made me want to run out and read the book right that very second, which, of course, was impossible, because it had yet to be released. Well, guess what, folks — it arrived on my doorstep on Wednesday! I read it in pretty much one sitting and it was everything I dreamed it would be. I just have to re-read The Vespertine and then I promise I will write up a review for it or the pair of them if I’m feeling particularly ambitious.

Ever since I heard that significant changes were made to Cath Crowley’s Graffiti Moon when it was released in the States, I’ve wanted a copy of the Australian version. Plus the cover is flippin’ amazing in a simple, understated sort of way. Thanks to fishpond.com, I now have a copy and I can’t wait to dig into it and see the differences for myself.

Library Loot

I swear, sometimes you go to the library and you can’t find anything to your taste and other times you come away with so many books that you can hardly carry them all. This week was definitely in the latter category, seeing as all my hold items came in at once. I’ve already devoured Robin Wasserman’s The Book of Blood and Shadow, which I kind of ruined for myself  by skipping ahead at certain points to make sure everything turned out okay (don’t be like me!). Well worth checking out. I’m making my way through Londoners: The Days and Nights of London Now — As Told By Those Who Love It, Hate It, Live It, Left It, and Long For It and  Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson (AKA The Blogess), but seeing as these are both non-fiction and I have so many lovely fiction books begging to be read, my progress has been slow for the moment.

Record Store Day

Did you all head out to your local record store for Record Store Day on Saturday? I wasn’t particularly interested in any of the special releases that were being offered, but I decided to head up to Neat Neat Neat Records in Fort Wayne, IN,  just to participate in the festivities. If you are ever in the area, do check out the store — Morrison and the rest of the staff are super friendly and knowledgeable (no pretentious hipsters here), and they’ve got a great selection of new and vintage vinyl at a reasonable price.

I picked up a copy of The Avett Brothers double gate-fold I and Love and You album, Belle and Sebastian Write About Love, and Bonnie Prince Billy’s Hummingbird album, which was actually a RSD release. Apparently the store had only been given five copies, so I was surprised that any were still available when I got there at 12:30. I’ve heard all of one song by BPB, but everyone and their brother on youtube says that Andrew Davie of Bear’s Den sounds just like him, so I decided that I might as well give it a go.

They also had records from quite a few artists whom I had heard about through the For Folk’s Sake blog, like The Mountain Goats, Joanna Newsom, and The Tallest Man on Earth, which was quite a pleasant surprise. I’m going to have to listen to some more of their material (and save up some money) before I throw down some cash on their albums. #whyisvinylsobloomin’expensive?!?

                                                                                            

Related Posts:

Books that Rock: Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2012 by in Music, The Week in Review and tagged , , , , , .
