Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Melina Marchetta’s books are like potato chips . . .

. . . you can’t read just one. Or you can liken them to chocolate chip cookies, if sweet snacks are more your thing.

Seriously. I just read about precious Danny Griggs and all his adorable friends in The Gorgon in the Gully, so naturally I have to visit with his big brother Jonah in Jellicoe Road. Once done with that, I’ll most likely remember that Ben Cassidy and Co. have a hilarious cameo in The Piper’s Son, so I’ll want to read that book. This will leave me with that nostalgic feeling and a desire to visit with Tom and Frankie and all the rest when they were but little high school kids, so I’ll pick up Saving Francesca. And even though I just reread Froi of the Exiles last week or so, I’ll just have to begin the Lumatere Chronicles again with a reading of Finnikin of the Rock.

To sum things up: it’s a vicious, vicious cycle, kids, and one I’m not keen to break. Don’t you dare send anyone for an intervention.

2 comments on “Melina Marchetta’s books are like potato chips . . .

  1. Chachic
    February 20, 2012

    You’ve read The Gorgon in the Gully, I’m jealous! I want to read that one as well because it’s about Jonah’s little brother. And I have a feeling I’ll reread Jellicoe Road after I read that.

  2. Jenn
    February 22, 2012

    I hope you get to read it someday! Danny is precious and I can see why Jonah adores him so much. Plus, we get to hear some from Jonah himself through the phone calls he makes to Danny, which was an unexpected treat. I think it’s a great book for kids, but there’s an added depth to it for those of us who have read Jellicoe Road, because we know exactly why poor Danny is afraid of everything.

Leave a Reply

