Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

5 Questions with Melina Marchetta

courtesy of Engage/Teacher to Teacher Blog

I think some readers see fragments of our world scattered throughout the novel and that’s what they’re relating to. And what I try to do most, in my work, is give the reader an accessible character. The women are never stunning or fought over by every second man they come across, and the men are never one dimensionally brave. It’s because I’m not stunning and was never fought over by every second man I came across, and I don’t know one-dimensionally brave men. So I stick with reality when constructing my characters. They may be flawed and very unlikeable at times, but I think they’re courageous and beautiful in a way that we all can be in our day-to-day life.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2012 by in News, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , .
