Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Yeah, it’s been a while, but I come bearing gifts

Author Love

(Good) Interviews with my favorite authors make me incredibly happy. I love getting into their heads and learning more about how they have created these amazing worlds and characters and their plans for said worlds and characters. Here are a few for you.

Lorraine Marwood talks to  the lovely and talented Melina Marchetta about her fantasy trilogy The Lumatere Chronicles.  Ditto to everything she says about the draw to the fantasy genre.

I love how epic a fantasy novel is allowed to be. Everything is so heightened, more romantic, more tragic, more cursed. There is no such thing as blasé. It’s a bit biblical, in that way. Think of all the epic stories of the Old Testament. Brothers betraying brothers, men sacrificing their sons, women giving birth to dynasties, displaced people following a prophet to a promised land. It’s all those big themes of faith and questioning a higher power and redemption.

 

Goodreads interview with Veronica Roth, author of Divergent. Can I get an amen that there will be no love triangle in Insurgent? I am so over that YA cliche.

 

Need a gift idea for that special someone (or maybe yourself)? 

Chicken Spaghetti has whittled down the exhaustive list compiled by Largehearted Boy of all the ‘best of’ lists of 2011 to the ones including books for children and young adults.

YALSA blogger Kelly Jensen has analyzed the young adult books selected for the four major ‘best of’ lists for emerging trends and reports some interesting findings.

A total of four books–ChimeAnya’s GhostThe Scorpio Races, and Blink and Caution–made all four of the “best of” lists. Three books–A Monster CallsBetween Shades of Gray, and Daughter of Smoke and Bone–made three lists. Thirteen titles made two of the lists. The majority made one list.

I’ve read  five of those titles (high five to Chime for being my most re-read book this year) and I concur that they belonged on those lists. I guess that means that I have good tastes (either that or I’m so not a hipster).

Want to proudly display your nerdiness (i.e. awesomeness) ? Threadless has a Harry Potter House Brawl t-shirt that I covet and a damask print Tardis shirt for the Doctor Who lover in your life (they even come in girly fit, which makes me happy — I hate t-shirts that are too big).

 

In other news

Hey girl, Ryan Gosling gets around. Not only does he love librarians, but he’s down with publishing and Young Adult fiction, too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2011 by in Miscellaneous, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , .
