Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Books that Rock: Chime by Franny Billingsley

This is Books that Rock, the weekly-ish series where I provide a song or two that describe events occurring in the chosen book (spoilers may occur in the song descriptions, so watch out).

Oh dear, I’ve just read Franny Billingsley’s Chime for the fourth time since May. Someone needs to stage an intervention stat. Of course, Chime is just that good, so if constantly rereading it is wrong, then I don’t want to be right.

I Know Where I’m Going by The Clancy Brothers

There were a number of traditional songs featured in Chime and “I Know Where I’m Going” is one of them. I had hoped to find a good version of either “Comin’ Thro the Rye” or “Lord Randal,” since both of them played a greater part in the plot of the novel, but I thought this song that Eldric sings to Briony as she is recovering from her encounter with the Dead Hand is sweet. The stanza that goes “Some say he is bad/but I say he is bonny/fairest of them all/is my handsome, winsome Johnny”  is also pretty fitting if you substitute Johnny with Eldric.

Roll Away Your Stone by Mumford & Sons

Seeing as Ted Dwane, the double bassist of Mumford & Sons, is who I see as Eldric when I read the book (can you deny he has the perfect hair for the role? Didn’t think so), it works out well that the group has a perfect song to describe how Eldric helps Briony work out the truth about herself during the trial. Too bad Ted isn’t wearing a tweed suit like he is for the “Little Lion Man” and “Winter Winds” videos, because then the image would be complete. *

To Let Go by Angus and Julia Stone and Sarah Blasko

I love, love, love this song that Angus and Julia Stone and Sarah Blasko wrote for Communion’s Flowerpot Sessions and it perfectly describes Briony at the end of the book as she is learning to see herself as loveable and able to love.

                                                                                                                 

 *See what I mean?

                                                                                                               

Related Posts:

Review: Chime by Franny Billingsley

Leave a Reply

