Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Teaser Thursday: Crossing the Tracks by Barbara Stuber

This week’s teaser comes from Barbara Stuber’s William C. Morris award finalist title, Crossing the Tracks, which is set in rural Missouri in the late 1920s.

He walks a few steps ahead and turns back to me. He opens his mouth, but I speak before he can make things worse. “Don’t tell me this isn’t pathetic. Don’t you dare. I’ve just committed a crime to find out that that sneak has been planning to get rid of me, for God’s sake. It’s not fine . . . it’s . . . he’s . . .”

Leroy’s face is dead serious. He clenches his fists, then levels his dark eyes on mine. “This is the way he always treats you. You’ve said it yourself a thousand times. I’ll tell you what I think you should do.”

I cover my ears. Here it comes.

Leroy growls the words, “Tell him no.”

-page 10-

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2011 by in Historical Fiction, Teaser Thursday, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , .
