Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Trojan Gold by Elizabeth Peters

A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words but the photograph art historian Vicky Bliss has just received gives rise to a thousand questions instead. A quick glance at the blood-stained envelope is all the proof she needs that something is horribly wrong.
The picture itself is familiar: a woman adorned in the gold of Troy. Yet this isn’t the famous photograph of Frau Schliemann — no, this picture is contemporary. The gold, as Vicky and her fellow academics know, disappeared at the end of World War II.
Now this circle of experts is gathered for a festive Bavarian Christmas. All of them — including the mysterious John Smythe and a very determined killer…

I believe I attempted to read this book about a year ago, but wasn’t in the mood for a mystery and took it back to the library without finishing it. I am certainly glad I gave it another go. I thought for sure I had the bad guy and the location of the treasure pegged before the book’s end, but Peters threw me for a loop.

There was also a lot of great Schmidt action in Trojan Gold, which is one of my favorite aspects of this series. I don’t know which was better: all of the dear Professor’s hilarious disguises as he attempts to follow Vicky around Munich covertly, or a drunken Schmidt challenging passerbys to a duel.

The tension between John and Vicky was also quite good. I will admit, blasphemous though it might sound to Vicky Bliss fans, that John was not my favorite male character based on his actions in the previous books. I could see he had ‘a scoundrel with a heart of gold’ potential, but it was overwhelmed by his jerkiness (pretty sure you can’t use that word in that context, but I don’t care). The way he looked out for Vicky in this book, however, warmed the cockels of my heart. It may just make me like him, afterall. If his hero status doesn’t do it, the banter between the two of them might. It quite amused me.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2010 by in Adult Fiction, Mystery and tagged , , .
