Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Readers Advisory Lab: Cozy Mystery Reading List

It’s been more than a while since I’ve posted here, but I blame that on Dewey’s Read-a-Thon. It was a wonderful experience (I ended up reading for a total of 10 and a half hours and almost 700 pages when I stopped at 12:30), but it left me a little worn out on blogging. But I’m back, now!

Here is a link to the cozy mystery reading list I created on wikispaces. I still have a little tweaking to do and a few more additions to make, but I figured I might as well post it before I forget to. Enjoy, and feel free to leave your comments and suggestions here if you so choose. Something akin to “Oh my goodness, that is so not a cozy mystery – what were you thinking? or “That author was awful and I wouldn’t recommend them even if someone was shoving splinters up my fingernails” would be more than helpful (seeing as I haven’t read a good number of these books and could only rely on what info that can be found on the internet).

5 comments on “Readers Advisory Lab: Cozy Mystery Reading List

  1. Michael
    April 19, 2010

    Jenn, this is absolutely beautiful! I wish I had the kind of technical expertise to pull something like this together. A couple of notes — and this is my own personal preference. You italicize series characters like they are books; unless it is a book, maybe just regular type? Or bold? Would be nice to have some kind of link to books, so readers can see the cover (that seems to jog a lot of memories or help people find books).

    Really liked the breakdown you used; it’s a good way to organize. Liked the annotations, too, a lot. Also liked that you included my beloved Brother Cadfael character; he’s my gold standard in a medieval detective!

    • Jenn
      April 20, 2010

      Thanks for the wonderful suggestions to improve my reading list. I went ahead and linked each entry to my library’s catalog – some of the books there show cover images in addition to summaries and reviews, which will help with recognition like you suggested.

      Wiki’s actually require very little technical knowledge (no html involved, thank goodness!), so they are super easy to put together. I bet you could do it with ease. The only thing that causes me grief is some of the formatting – it says that a line is heading four, but I know it’s normal sized, but it won’t change – the sort of nitpicky thing that is like to drive you nuts.

      Thanks again for the suggestions – I do appreciate it!

    • Jenn
      April 20, 2010

      Oh, and I’m loving Brother Cadfael. While some cozy mysteries seem a bit formulaic to me, the book I’m currently reading in this series seems solid. Excellent characterization and plot development – just what I look for in a book!

  2. Kris
    April 20, 2010

    I love the Joanna Fluke series..but you definitely need to start at the beginning.

    The Joanne carl books are good..and get better as the series goes on. At first the main character can annoy me at times, but that’s mostly evident in the beginning of the series.

    I’ve read one Nancy Atherton book and remember enjoying it, I’ve just been rather lazy about reading more in the series.

    I personally didn’t like the Beatrix Potter series by Susan Wittig Albert but I love her China Bayles series, so take a peak at that one.

    That’s pretty much it for me…I haven’t read the other authors you mentioned.

    • Jenn
      April 20, 2010

      Thanks so much for your comments, Kris! It’s hard to create a credible reading list if you haven’t read, let alone heard of, half of the authors to choose from, so any advice is beneficial. On the plus side, it’s a great way to get introduced to new books and authors.

      I will definitely give those authors you recommended a try (and steer clear of the Beatrix Potter books – they did sound a bit cutesy for my tastes, anyhow).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2010 by in Miscellaneous and tagged , .
