Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon Kick-off!

Hello, fellow reading fiends! I hope you all got a good nights sleep in preparation for 24-hours of reading. I went to bed early last night, so I would be ready for the day, but I must have slept funny, because I woke up with a ferocious crink in my neck – I could hardly move my head to the side. Thank good ness for Mineral Ice!

I have my snacks ready, my books piled up, my template downloaded and I am ready to read! I’ve also decided to do a bit of charity work with my reading experience, so for every book I read, I am donating five dollars to missions work at my church. That’s right, I’m reading for Jesus! (Not too cheesy, is that?)

I will probably update you all on this post every hour or so with how I’m doing. Happy reading, everyone!

8:00-9:00: I read a total of 32 pages and 48 minutes– I’m quite enjoying my time in Lochdubh Scotland with P.C. Hamish Macbeth. My cat, O’Reilly has made his home on my lap. I’ve got a package of cherry Craisins by my side in case I should get hungry.

9:00-10:00: Reading totals= 48 minutes and 55 pages. Much better than last hour! I joined in on the mini-challenge for first time read-a-thoners at the Dewey page. Have you all done any challenges? The Craisins have come in handy – I always get the muchies when I read or study or whatnot. I feel like I’m back in college studying for finals. This is much more fun!

10:00-11:00: Pages read: 50 for the hour; 137 cumulative; Time reading: 42 minutes for the hour, 2 hours and 18 minutes cumulative. I am just about to find out who killed the naughty Mrs. Baird, so I best get back to reading!

11:00-12:00: Pages read:39 for the hour, and 176 cumulative; Time: 33 min. for the hour, and 2 hours and 51 minutes total. I finished Death of a Hussy, which certainly ended unexpectedly. If you want a cozy mystery with humor, a strong central character, and don’t mind some swearing, then Hamish is your man. I’ve begun reading Elizabeth Peters The Seventh Sinner and I am impressed with Jacqueline Kirby, the title character of the series. She’s a librarian, but she certainly puts a damper on our stereotypical image.

2 comments on “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon Kick-off!

  1. Wendi
    April 10, 2010

    Enjoy your reading!

    How awesome of you to link your reading with a cause!

    • Jenn
      April 10, 2010

      Thanks for the encouragement – I do appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2010 by in Adult Fiction, Mystery and tagged .
