Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Bookish Movies – A Read-A-Thon Mini-Challenge

This challenge comes courtesy of Lydia at the lost ent-wife (I just love that name). The idea is to cast an actor or actress in your favorite book, should it become a movie. I’ve done this several times with the Outlander series, as you may or may not be aware, so I thought I would give it a go with my other favorite series, The Queen’s Thief by Megan Whalen Turner, which I am reading currently.

This series features my favorite male character (bar Mr. Jamie Fraser, himself), Eugenides, who is clever and sassy and so much more that I can’t tell you, lest I give any secrets away (just read the books-you’ll see).

My pick to play him is Joseph Gorden Levitt, as I think he has the right look (though perhaps a bit tall) and the acting chops to pull off a character as multi-faceted as Gen.

6 comments on “Bookish Movies – A Read-A-Thon Mini-Challenge

  1. Kay
    April 10, 2010

    Oh, this book has been on my wishlist for a while! Knowing that Joseph Gorden Levitt would be cast in the film version for some reason makes me want to read it even more…

    • Jenn
      April 10, 2010

      It’s one of my very favorite series — you really ought to read it!

  2. Nise'
    April 10, 2010

    As a fellow (huge) fan of Jamie Fraser I will have to check out this series!

  3. Booklover Book Reviews
    April 11, 2010

    I have just given you an award at Booklover Book Reviews, http://bookloverbookreviews.blogspot.com/2010/04/awards-ceremony.html

  4. Kihana
    April 11, 2010

    Wow. Haha, can’t say I know the books you’re reading – though I know I’ve seen The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia in a bookstore before, and I remember wanting to get them XP – but you sound like you’re enjoying them.

    You are enjoying them, aren’t you? XP I’d hate to make assumptions. Either way, I hope the Read-a-Thon’s going well for you. No pressure there. Just remember to have fun, ‘coz that’s really what it’s all about – love of reading and love of books. ❤

    And, I'm sorry I didn't get to cheer you earlier. But, I really hope you're doing well. 🙂

    Happy reading! Few more hours to go~ 😉

    Kihana

  5. gothougeekly
    April 11, 2010

    Still at it, Jenn? I’m turning away from the good Count of Saint-Germain and trying New Moon. I just can’t get into the intricacies of 5th century Huns right now. Maybe sparkly vampires will work better.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2010 by in Miscellaneous and tagged .
