Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon: April 10, 2010

Tomorrow, April 10, I will be participating in Dewey’s 24-hour read-a-thon (though I rather doubt I will be reading for the full 24 hours – I’m shooting for at least 12). I’m heading to the library tonight when I get off from work to pick up some books to read in addition to what is already on my TBR pile, grab some snacks from the grocery, and get set to read all day tomorrow. I just hope the weather is pleasant tomorrow so I can read a bit outside as well.

Will you join me tomorrow in being a crazy reading fool? Head on over here to sign up!

ETA: I did some pre-library shopping, so I know the order of various series and exactly what my library has available, which will leave me more time for snack shopping and making. I’ve decided upon a variety of cozy mysteries, as I’m creating a reading list of popular titles and authors for one of my grad school classes. I figure if I am combining school with pleasure, then technically I’m not wasting my time. It’s a win-win situation. These are the books I will be picking up:

Amelia Peabody by Elizabeth Peters:

    Crocodile on the Sandbank
    The Curse of the Pharoahs

Vicky Bliss by Elizabeth Peters:

    Silhouette in Scarlet
    Trojan Gold

Jacqueline Kirby by Elizabeth Peters:

    The Seventh Sinner
    Murders of Richard III

Hamish Macbeth by M.C. Beaton:

    Death of a Hussy
    Death of a Snob
    Death of a Prankster

Brother Cadfael by Ellis Peters:

    One Corpse Too Many
    Monk’s Hood

Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mysteries by Carrie Bebris:

    Pride and Prescience
    North by Northanger

Jane Austen Mysteries by Stephanie Barron:

    Jane and the Barque of Frailty

The Queen’s Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner:

    The Thief
    The Queen of Attolia
    The King of Attolia

This is probably much more than I need (though I do read fast), but several authors are new to me, so I don’t know if I will like them or not. This will give me some options in case some of them are not quite what I’m looking for.

ETA: How perfect is it that Reading With Tequila is hosting a Cozy Mystery Challenge? I’m in!

6 comments on “Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon: April 10, 2010

  1. gothougeekly
    April 9, 2010

    Very cool, Jenn! Count me in!

    • Jenn
      April 9, 2010

      Awesome – I’m glad to hear it!

  2. Kavitha Narayanan
    April 9, 2010

    Good luck with the read-a-thon! I am in as well, but am yet to select the books.

    • Jenn
      April 10, 2010

      Thanks! Hope all goes well with your reading.

  3. gothougeekly
    April 9, 2010

    Hope you enjoy Brother Cadfael as much as I have over the years; it’s one of my favorite series. I’m going to concentrate on re-reading some Ender’s Game and Harry Potter, as well as the new Comte de Saint-Germain, and New Moon. I figure six books is more than enough.

    • Jenn
      April 9, 2010

      I think Brother Cadfael is the series I am most looking forward to reading, so I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Have fun with your Ender and Harry Potter re-reads – I’ve been meaning to read Ender’s Game, but I haven’t gotten around to it with everything else that is on my TBR pile.
      Comte de Saint Germain was a particularly nasty character in Diana Gabaldon’s Dragonfly in Amber, but I didn’t know that he had his own book series (or that he was, apparently, a real person). Are his books any good?

      Happy Reading tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2010 by in Events and tagged .
