Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Teaser Thursday (10): Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

I was so excited about this book that I decided to re-read it immediately after I had finished Beautiful Creatures. Marchetta has become one of my favorite authors and Finnikin just confirmed why I love her writing so much. The characters are vibrant and you care for them and feel their plight just as you would for one of your own friends or family members.

“You’re making my hair turn white,” Trevanion muttered later, when they were alone in their cage.

“That would be your old age,” Finnikin replied, trying to stretch out the aches and pains in every joint in his body.

“You fight well. Like the Yuts.”

“We lived in the grasslands for a year when I was fourteen.”

“And you needed to fight?”

“They mocked my accent. And of course you can’t have hair my color and not learn how to fight in any kingdom,” (87-88).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2010 by in Teaser Thursday and tagged , , .
