Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Teaser Thursday (9): Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

As you all can see, I changed the theme of my blog once again. I liked the space having a left and right sidebar gave me, but it tended to look a bit cluttered. These theme has that nice drop-down feature for each of the post categories and allows me to keep the list of links down at the bottom, which leaves the blog neat and tidy. I also like the colors, though I miss my huge custom header. This one only gives you a fifty by fifty pixel image.

This teaser comes from Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier, which I started last night. I decided to give Thursday Next a little break (I need to change the image out, I know) because it made me more than sad that the good people of Swindon have abandoned their love of the written word and replaced it with reality television. I will come back to it eventually, but for now I will concentrate on reducing my overwhelmingly large TBR pile.

Father Brien had given him a strong stick of ash, and he used it to help him walk; he was still painfully hesitant, but he moved now with my support. Here, the path was thickly covered with fallen leaves, and the tangled network of bare branches let cold light through to touch them with gold and silver. Linn was ecstatic, digging and sniffing here and there. A bird called; another answered.

“Will I ever be able to sleep again?” he asked suddenly, taking me by surprise. M y answer was guarded; I had seen those taken by the Fair Folk, how their madness never quite left them by night or day, how the whirl of memories in their heads gave them no peace.

“It might take a long time,” I said gently. “You have made some progress, but I cannot lie to you. Such damage does not heal easily. You may be your own best helper, if you choose the right path,” (87).

2 comments on “Teaser Thursday (9): Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

  1. Booklover Book Reviews
    March 6, 2010

    Great teaser – and I love your new blog template!

    • Jenn
      March 9, 2010

      Thanks! I like to change things up every once in a while and I liked how colorful this theme was.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2010 by in Teaser Thursday and tagged , , .
