Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

No, Really, I Do Have Way Too Much Time On My Hands

Some time back, I had some fun with Picnik and created some collages of how I see various Outlander characters in my head as I read/who I would cast if ever a movie were to be made. I thought I had gotten over the urge to waste time in this manner.

I was wrong.

Picnik, my friends, is just way too addicting and I found even better pictures to use for Outlander characters, so here are a few more collages for your viewing pleasure. I simply tweaked a few of the ones I made before, while some are brand new creations. Enjoy.

Jamie and Claire

This one is mostly the same – Gerard Butler as Jamie and Lena Headey as Claire – but I like the top-right picture of Claire much better than the old one I used. I wish I had stuck with the white lettering, though, because the black is not showing up quite as well.

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roger and Brianna

Picnik finally let me upload random red-headed girl as Brianna and Henry Cavill as Roger no longer has his head half chopped off. Success!

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ian and Rachel

I used Alicia Witt as Rachel Hunter this time, just as I intended before, but switched out Gaspard Ulliel for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Young Ian. I’m liking the change – Joseph could definitely pull off Ian’s gentle and compassionate, yet tough-as-nails persona.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ian and Jenny

Ian is shown here as Matthew Goode, which I can sort of buy, but I think he’s a bit too good-looking for Ian – he’s described as homely. I think I like him even better as Colm Mac Con Iomaire, the fiddler from The Frames/The Swell Season, but I didn’t have a picture of him that worked well with the collage layout (not that he’s homely, either). I’m really not quite sure who the girl I have as Jenny is, since it’s been so long since I saved the picture, but I’m pretty sure she is an actress. I think she captures Jenny’s fierceness quite nicely, though, don’t you?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Miscellaneous Other Characters

From top-left: I originally had Jack Davenport of Pirates of the Caribbean fame as Frank/Jack Randall, but I changed my mind in favor of Richard Armitage. I actually see that bowling alley-lawyer tv show guy as Frank in my head as I read, but I really couldn’t find a good picture of him, so good old Richard will have to do. I think Cate Blanchett could pull off a wicked Geillis Duncan and Sophia Myles has the sweet, round-faced appearance of Laoghaire (though we all know that Laoghaire really isn’t all that sweet). I don’t know if Simon Baker has any acting ability whatsoever and yes, I know he’s Australian, but he looks exactly how I picture an older Lord John Gray (obviously, he would not be working for the sixteen year old John we meet in Dragonfly in Amber).

13 comments on “No, Really, I Do Have Way Too Much Time On My Hands

  1. alitareads
    February 17, 2010

    The actress you have as Jenny is Ruth Wilson – she played Jane Eyre in 2006 🙂 I like your picks for Claire & Jamie!

    • Jenn
      February 18, 2010

      Yes! – Ruth Wilson, that’s who she is. Thanks for jogging my memory!

      I rather like those two as Jamie and Claire myself. 😉

  2. gothougeekly
    February 18, 2010

    Jack Davenport was also the anchor character for the British series Coupling, which is a big favorite. But, yeah, most of us just leave this sort of thing to occasional idle reflection.

    • Jenn
      February 18, 2010

      You know, I’ve never seen him in anything but POTC, so I might have to check Coupling out.

      Yeah, I’d mostly leave this sort of stuff to idle reflection, too, but you have to find some way to keep yourself occupied for eight hour stretches at a very small, mostly quiet community college library and Picnik is amazingly addictive . . . 🙂

  3. Carri
    February 18, 2010

    You should do this for the Thursday Next series! How fun.

    • Jenn
      February 18, 2010

      Thursday Next, now that would be a tough one! Who in the acting community could live up to her standard of awesomeness – any thoughts?

  4. PolishOutlander
    February 18, 2010

    I had always pictured Gerard Butler as Jaime too. Yum! And Lena Headley….great choice for Claire. Sigh…I wonder if these books will ever hit the big or small screen….

  5. Jenn
    February 18, 2010

    Gerard Butler has held a special place in my heart ever since I saw Dear Frankie and I’m pretty sure P.S. I Love You would have been the most depressing film in the world without his antics. Gerard definitely has the right personality to play Jamie.

    I don’t know whether to hope they will be made into films or not. On the one hand, I think with all of the action combined with the romance, these books would offer a little something for everyone as movies. Then again, the track record for books to films – Lord of the Rings not withstanding – is not so good. There’s a chance without the right cast and director and screenplay that any movies made could be total rubbish. I just don’t know what to hope for.

  6. Lynn
    February 18, 2010

    I am fairly new to the Outlander series, just started it last November but I am almost through with Breathe of Snow and Ashes and on to Echo in the Bone. I have simply fallen in love with Claire and Jamie.

    I have been picturing who should be cast in their roles when the Outlander gets made. I think it is the only one optioned right now.

    While I love Gerard Butler he would be too old to play the 23 year old Jamie. From Dragonfly in Amber on he would be perfect.

    I am a huge Richard Armitage fan so I just gasped at the idea of him playing Jack Randall but after thinking about it he would probably do it very well. However I think he is too tall. I envision Randall as being much shorter than Jamie. If he was as tall it would change the whole dynamics of the relationship.

    Simon Baker is a very good actor and I can see him as Lord John Grey.

    Great casting. I am keeping my fingers crossed we will see the series on the big screen but we must be prepared for severe abridgment.

  7. Jenn
    February 23, 2010

    You may be a fairly recent fan of the series, Lynn, but you certainly already understand the appeal — the characters, particularly Jamie and Claire. They feel much more like old friends than characters in a book. I may read a book primarily for its characters, but it is rare for me to feel a connection to a group of characters like I do with those in the Outlander series.

    Some of the actors I chose were people I could honestly see playing the characters in a film, but most of them are just as close a representation of what I see in my head as I read. The points you’ve made about some of the actors are certainly still valid, though, should a movie be made.

    I’m not a really picky fan as far as the look of a character goes when a film is being made from a book. I wouldn’t go crazy if the actress playing Claire had darker brown hair instead of light brown hair or if the girl playing Jenny was taller than five foot. I care more about whether or not the actor or actress can capture the essence of that character.

    However, I do agree with you that sometimes appearance really does matter. Being tall and redheaded defines Jamie’s character just as much as his wit and stubborness. While John Gray is described as shorter than the average man of the time, I don’t think it’s as important to his character as it is to Jack Randall’s — an audience needs to see that despite the vast contrast between Jamie and Jack’s stature, Jack was able to break Jamie’s spirit.

    I’m with you in hoping that someday the Outlander movies will be a reality, but I’m nervous about what will have to be cut out in order to make that happen.

  8. T.Y.
    October 29, 2010

    I am loving your pick of Lena Heady as Claire. Why didn’t I think of it? And yes! Henry Cavill needs a place in Outlander somewhere.

  9. Lauren
    July 18, 2011

    How could Gerald Butler be Jamie? Jamie has to have red hair – it’s mandatory.

    • Jenn
      July 18, 2011

      This post was a combination of both what I imagine the characters to look like as I read and who I would cast in the roles should Outlander ever be made into a movie, but it was mostly the former (actually, I take that back — this was mostly a fun way to pass the time). When I read the books, my version of Jamie looks and sounds like a red-headed Gerard Butler, so that’s whose picture I’ve included in this post.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2010 by in Miscellaneous and tagged , , .
