Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Random Book News

How is it I am just finding out that Melina Marchetta has a sequel in the works for Saving Francesca called The Piper’s Son? It’s set five years after the events of Francesca and follows Tom Mackee, though Will and Francesca do play key roles in the book. I think I remember reading an interview at one of the many blogs I follow that concerning rumors about a sequel for one of Marchetta’s beloved books, but I was hoping it would be Jellicoe Road.

Though Jellicoe Road is by far my favorite of her books and very worthy of the Printz award it received, Saving Francesca was my first venture into Marchetta’s world and it holds a special place in my heart. I wish I lived in Australia because it’s coming out next month there, but the US isn’t receiving it until early 2011. Anyone have any friends down under who wouldn’t mind hooking me up with a copy?

Oh, and I had a looksee on my Amazon orders page and it looks like my copy of Finnikin of the Rock is coming in the mail today! I have so many other books on my TBR, but because this book is by Melina Marchetta it is jumping straight to the top. Unlike her other books, which are set in contemporary Australia, Finnikin is a fantasy. It’s a win-win situation in my book.

The title and cover images for the third book in Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy were revealed this week. Isn’t it beautiful? I can not wait for August 24th when this book comes out!

3 comments on “Random Book News

  1. Alisa
    February 16, 2010

    I can’t wait for Mockingjay either. Loved Hunger Games and Catching Fire. I was able to get those two read over semester break. I just got Finnikin of the Rock for the teen section this week. Can’t wait until I can have time to read and read. Tha’t s what everyone thinks librarians do all day anyway! Thanks for sharing.

    • Jenn
      February 17, 2010

      The Hunger Games consumed all my thoughts when I was reading it, it was that good. I can’t wait to see what Collins puts these kids through in Mockingjay.

      Wouldn’t it be nice if all we had to do was read? I think that would be the absolute perfect job. Of course, I’m the type of person who will put off all of my other assignments in order to read . . .

  2. Qiyana Rajhi
    May 31, 2010

    I thought the hunger games and catching fire were some of the greatest books I’ve read! they had me so consumed that my family was calling me antisocial! almost every hour of the day, i was boring my eyes into the pages! besides the twilight saga by Stephanie Meyer, these are my favorite set of books and i cant wait until Mockingjay comes out!

Leave a Reply

