Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Teaser Thursday (8): Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith

I’ve been wanting to read Crown Duel for quite some time, since I’ve heard such wonderful things about it, but I kept forgetting that my library actually had it. Well, my memory finally kicked in gear the other day and I picked it up. I think what I love most about the book is the cover — the main character, Meliara, looks as if she’s kicking butt and taking names, doesn’t she?

     “The King will summon you at first-green tomorrow,” the Marquis said quickly, all trace of the drawl gone. “It appears that your brother has been making a fool of Debegri, leading him all over your mountains and stealing our horses and supplies. The King has changed his mind: Either you surrender, speaking for your brother and your people, or he’s going to make an example of you in a public execution tomorrow. Not a noble’s death, but a criminal’s.”
     “Criminal?” I repeated stupidly, my voice nearly gone.
     “It will last all day,” he said with a grimace of distaste. It was the first real expression I’d ever seen from him, but by then I was in no mood to appreciate it.
     The door shut, the footsteps withdrew, and I was left in silence.
     It was then that I hit the low point of my life (78-79).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2010 by in Teaser Thursday and tagged , , .
