Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review (6)

This weekly series is inspired by the In My Mailbox series over at The Story Siren (see link in right sidebar) and chronicles the books I purchased, got from the library or received in the mail throughout the week. These books will more than likely be reviewed eventually, so be sure to check back later!

BookMooch

With Dragonsinger, my Harper Hall Trilogy is complete. This book can join its companions on the nearly whole shelf I have devoted to McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series, which I have been collecting since middle school. Thank goodness most of them are paperback, or no one would want to help me move!

Paperback Swap

PBS helped me get two more books I shall be using for the 100+ Reading Challenge: Jasper Fforde’s Lost in a Good Book, which is the second Thursday Next novel, and The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud, the first book in the Bartimaeus trilogy. I also might be reading the Fforde book as my fantasy genre selection for my Adult Readers Advisory class (it’s between this and Naomi Novik’s first Temaire book or the Juliet Marillier book I told you all about a couple weeks ago).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Purchase

Oh, readers, I was a naughty wee fiend yesterday. I’d like to blame the following purchases on my aunt and uncle, who invited me to go to a real mall yesterday (as opposed to the rinky-dink one in our hometown) with a gigantisaurus Barnes and Noble, but the real reason lies in my lack of self-control when it comes to bookstores. I’m rather glad (and this may sound blasphemous coming from a future librarian) that my town’s only bookstore, crummy though it was, is going out of business, otherwise I’d be spending all of my paychecks on books and be forced to live in a van down by the river. I justified these purchases on the fact that they are for class and Queen’s Play and The Disorderly Kinghts I can’t get at the library and the Hamish MacBeth mystery I didn’t know if I could get at the library or not (turns out I could – this book and twenty-five of its series mates. Must be nice for those mystery readers). I wish you all could see how pretty they are in real life, but pictures will have to suffice.

You know what I really can’t stand about trying to find books from a series at a bookstore or library? Unless you are familiar with said series, there never seems to be a clear indication of which book is the first one. I like to start at the very beginning (a very good place to start) when picking up a new series, and I thought I was doing so with Death of a Maid, since it was at the top of the list included in the book of all of the Hamish MacBeth books, but nooooo, it’s one of the very last ones. Oh, well.

Did you all get any interesting literary loot this week?

8 comments on “The Week in Review (6)

  1. Kathy Martin
    January 17, 2010

    My Dragonriders of Pern series fills more than a shelf. Of course, a lot of them are hardcovers. I know you will enjoy Dragonsinger. It is one of my favorites of the series.

    I have a couple of Dunnett’s on my TBR pile but haven’t gotten to them yet. I have no idea if they are part of a series. But I agree with you. I want to start with book 1 when I read a series, too.

    Happy reading!

    • Jenn
      January 17, 2010

      Chances are that your Dunnett books are from a series, since she wrote three of them (Lymond Chronicles, The House of Niccolo and the Dolly books, which I know nothing about) and only one individual book. I can tell you which series they belong to if you know the titles (my Dunnett books so kindly have provided a listing of all of her books in the order in which they were written).

  2. Laura of The Bookie Bunch
    January 17, 2010

    Great books!

    Here’s what I got this week: http://bookielaura.blogspot.com/2010/01/in-my-mailbox-1-17-10.html

    Have a great week!

    • Jenn
      January 19, 2010

      Thanks!

  3. Charlotte
    January 19, 2010

    yay for Dragonsinger! One of the books I know almost by heart…

    • Jenn
      January 19, 2010

      Isn’t it great? I haven’t read it since I was probably in high school (which has been a while – we’ll leave it at that), so I can’t wait until I get to re-read it. This is one of the times that I wish my TBR pile was a bit shorter and I didn’t have so much to do for grad school.

  4. Rose City Reader
    April 19, 2010

    You will absolutely LOVE the What’s Next database: http://ww2.kdl.org/libcat/WhatsNextNEW.asp

    It’s a public library service that let’s you search for a series and it tells you what order the books are supposed to be in.

    And they are very nice. If they do not have the series in the database, you can email them the name of the series and the author and they will add it!

    Have fun!

    • Jenn
      April 20, 2010

      Thanks so much for that suggestion – I am bookmarking it for sure!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2010 by in The Week in Review and tagged , , , , , .
