Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review (5)

This weekly series is inspired by the In My Mailbox series over at The Story Siren (see link in right sidebar) and chronicles the books I purchased, got from the library or received in the mail throughout the week. These books will more than likely be reviewed eventually, so be sure to check back later!

Paperback Swap

PBS was good to me this week and provided me with the first two books of the awesome Airborn trilogy from Candian author Kenneth Oppel. If you are a fan of steampunk, tons of adventure (including pirates!), and complex, intriguing characters (Matt is the one you’ll root for, while Kate will frustrate you, but you’ll be able to understand her struggles) then this series will be right up your alley.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Library

I braved less-than-stellar road conditions on Friday to head to the library and picked up some books I am planning on counting toward J-Kaye’s 100+ Reading Challenge (see above tab for details). I’ve been wanting to read Kristin Cashore’s Fire for ages, so I was quite happy to be able to score it in an audio version just as I’m starting classes. This will be perfect for my hour and a half trip to Indy twice a week. Tamora Pierce’s Trickster’s Choice and Sarah Rees Brennan’s The Demon’s Lexicon were both recommended over at Charlotte’s Library (see link in the sidebar) for fan’s of Megan Whalen Turner’s fabulous Queen’s Thief series. I can’t wait to dig into all of these books.

                                      

Purchase

Why are textbooks so stinkin’ expensive? My text for my Adult Readers’ Advisory class is such a tiny thing, but it cost me almost sixty bucks! At least it will leave me with some applicable knowledge, which I can’t say for some of my former textbooks (so if you need a book rec, come see me – I’ll need some guinea pigs for my class). Terry Pratchett’s A Hat Full of Sky was a total surprise when it came in the mail today. Borders took so long shipping it that I had completely forgotten that I used my Borders Bucks to order it. How could I forget something from the fabulous Tiffany Aching series? Unreal!

17 comments on “The Week in Review (5)

  1. Rebecca
    January 10, 2010

    Great books you got this week. I have Fire on my shelf waiting to be read. Trickster’s Choice is a really good book. Hope you enjoy reading all your books.

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      Thanks! I’m certainly looking forward to them all.

  2. Catherine
    January 10, 2010

    Ooh, I love Tamora Pierce’s books. Amazing – glad to see people on the blogosphere reading them!

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      I’ve heard nothing but love for Tamora Pierce from those I’ve talked to, so I’m glad my library actually has quite a few of her books. They do come through for me every now and then.

  3. Kathy Martin
    January 10, 2010

    You got some wonderful books this week. I liked the Oppel books a lot when I read them. I am a huge fan of Tamora Pierce and have read all of her books. Fire was also good. I have The Demon’s Lexicon on my TBR pile because I have also heard good things about it. Wasn’t the series by Turner amazing? Happy reading!

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who enjoys Oppel’s books. He’s created such an amazing world that I wish actually existed (airships seem so much more romantic to me than airplanes). I adored Matt, but Kate bugged me a lot of the time until I examined what she had to go through to be taken seriously as a scientist in a period where women were not on equal footing with men.

      Yes, I love Turner’s books and I can’t wait until Conspiracy of Kings to come out in a couple of months.

  4. Stephanie
    January 10, 2010

    These look really good! I love the cover of Skybreaker.

    My post is here: When the Apocalypse Comes Nobody’s Going to Be Punctuating

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      The covers of Oppel’s books are all gorgeous, especially the third in the series, Starclimber.

      I like the title of your post and I will definitely check it out.

  5. Jenn (Books At Midnight)
    January 10, 2010

    Fire was awesome!! The Demon’s Lexicon, ehh, not so much. But hope you enjoy, and happy reading! (:

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like The Demon’s Lexicon, but I hope I don’t end up sharing your opinion. I know that there are some books that everyone raves about that I can’t stand (like Robin Mckinley’s Sunshine).
      I am glad to hear that you liked Fire, though.

  6. Charlotte
    January 10, 2010

    The Kenneth Oppel books have been on my tbr list forever, it seems…

    Unlike Jenn, I loved the Demon’s Lexicon, and enjoyed Fire, but not quite as much. I hope you like both lots, though!

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      Do check out the Airborn trilogy if you get a chance, as they really are quite good. I can see boys who like adventure with a bit of fantasy mixed in latching on to these books.
      Have you read Graceling? If so, how do you think Fire compares with that? I just started listening, and the little kid is quite the creeper. If I remember correctly, he plays a part in Graceling as an adult. I think I might have nightmares about him . . .

  7. PolishOutlander
    January 10, 2010

    Hmmm…..those Oppel books sound intriguing! I might have to look them up. Happy reading!

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      I can’t recommend them enough. I breezed through them this summer. Oppel also has one of the coolest websties I’ve seen (the link is in the sidebar).

  8. Ah Yuan // wingstodust
    January 10, 2010

    I had loads of fun reading Demon’s Lexicon, personally. And Fire! So jealous.

    Have fun reading~

    • Jenn
      January 10, 2010

      Yay, more readers in favor of Demon’s Lexicon!
      It’s taken me forever to get around to reading Fire, and I’m not quite sure why, as I really liked Graceling. It seems promising so far.

  9. Laura of The Bookie Bunch
    January 10, 2010

    Great books! I’m really wanting to get into Fire.

    Here’s what I got this week: http://bookielaura.blogspot.com/2010/01/in-my-mailbox-11010.html

    Take care! 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2010 by in The Week in Review.
