Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Books that Rock: Talking to Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede

This is  Books that Rock, the segment where I provide a song or two that describe events occuring in the chosen book (spoilers may occur in the song descriptions, so watch out).

Talking to Dragons was a tricky one, I do admit, as it was hard to find songs that captured the heroism of Daystar’s journey with an appropriate humorous twist. I don’t know if I quite succeeded, but these are some fun songs at any rate.

My Moon, My Man by Feist

The line “shed some light, shed some light on me, please,” is appropriate for the beginning of the book, when Daystar’s mother, Cimorene, hands him a sword and tells him to figure out what to do with it and not to come back home until he did.

Run Through the Jungle by Creedance Clearwater Revival

Oh, CCR, how I love thee. Well, maybe the Enchanted Forest isn’t quite like the jungles of Vietnam, but it certainly has perils of its own . . . wizards who want to steal your magic sword, fire witches who want to turn you into a statue, clot-heided princesses who wax poetic about the heroic deeds of their One True Love and wail about how said knight has left them all alone in the middle of the forest . . .

Welcome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance

Perhaps the weirdest video I have ever seen, but it does have a nice heroic ring to it that adequately describes Daystar’s quest, especially the “do or die” bit near the end.

Leave a Reply

