Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review (3)

This weekly series is inspired by the In My Mailbox series over at The Story Siren (see link in right sidebar) and chronicles the books I purchased, got from the library or received in the mail throughout the week.  These books will more than likely be reviewed eventually, so be sure to check back later!

Paperback Swap

I was wanting to read this book for J-Kaye’s 2010 100+ Reading Challenge, so I was happy to find a copy at PBS. I might have to give the other two books in the trilogy a try if this one is good (I have seen quite a few recs on blogs, so I’m hoping I will enjoy it).

Lovely Sorcha is the seventh child and only daughter of Lord Colum of Sevenwaters. Bereft of a mother, she is comforted by her six brothers who love and protect her. Sorcha is the light in their lives; they are determined that she know only contentment.

But Sorcha’s joy is shattered when her father is bewitched by his new wife, an evil enchantress who binds her brothers with a terrible spell, a spell which only Sorcha can lift – by staying silent. If she speaks before she completes the quest set to her by the Fair Folk and their queen, the Lady of the Forest, she will lose her brothers forever.

When Sorcha is kidnapped by the enemies of Sevenwaters and taken to a foreign land, she is torn between the desire to save her beloved brothers, and a love that comes only once. Sorcha despairs at ever being able to complete her task, but the magic of the Fair Folk knows no boundaries, and love is the strongest magic of them all.

Purchase

When I got my hair cut earlier this week at the mall, I noticed that our Waldenbooks is closing and they were having a going-out-of-business sale (it was tiny, but it was all this town had in the way of a bookstore). Naturally, I had to go in and see if there was anything worth spending my money on. Scott Westerfeld’s newest, Leviathan, was calling my name, so I picked it up (my justification for buying something so close to close to Christmas was that it was thirty percent off). After reading Ken Oppel’s Airborn trilogy, I was intrigued by the whole steampunk concept, so I am hoping that Leviathan won’t let me down. The cover is gorgeous, at any rate.

It is the cusp of World War I, and all the European powers are arming up. The Austro-Hungarians and Germans have their Clankers, steam-driven iron machines loaded with guns and ammunition. The British Darwinists employ fabricated animals as their weaponry. Their Leviathan is a whale airship, and the most masterful beast in the British fleet.

Aleksandar Ferdinand, prince of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battle-torn Stormwalker and a loyal crew of men.

Deryn Sharp is a commoner, a girl disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered.

With the Great War brewing, Alek’s and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way . . . taking them both aboard the Leviathan on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure. One that will change both their lives forever.  

 

Gift

I received a lot of books for Christmas this year, since there wasn’t really anything else on my Amazon wishlist. I got Outlander, Voyager, and The Fiery Cross in trade paperback, and An Echo in the Bone in hardcover – I’m still trying to decide if they were worth suffering through being called an old maid, a future cat lady, and having a heavy stone picture frame dropped on my ankle. Here they are in all their shiny glory (I’d do a write-up for each of them, but I’m too lazy and I’m pretty sure I’ve probably already talked your ears off about the whole series and you know just about as much as I do about them as a result).

What literary loot did you all bring in this week?

15 comments on “The Week in Review (3)

  1. Marjolein
    December 27, 2009

    Noni Carter

  2. Marjolein
    December 27, 2009

    oops something went wrong in my last comment, sorry!
    just wanted to say: nice books!

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      Thanks!

  3. Stephanie
    December 27, 2009

    I love the cover of Daughter of the Forest. And Leviathan looks great! I recently bought it to read with my son.

    Mine is here

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      I hope you and your son enjoy Leviathan – and I hope I will too.

  4. Kathy Martin
    December 27, 2009

    Nice collection of new books. Happy reading!

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      Thanks, I’ll be sure to enjoy my time with these books.

  5. Laura of The Bookie Bunch
    December 27, 2009

    Great books!

    Here’s what I got: http://bookielaura.blogspot.com/2009/12/book-haul-christmas-edition.html

    Have a great New Year!

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      You have a great New Year as well, and I will be sure to check out the books you got.

  6. The Book Explorer
    December 27, 2009

    The Sevenwaters trilogy is my favorite series. I hope you really enjoy Daughter of the Forest! I love it!

    Enjoy all your books!

    ~Shayla

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      I’m so glad to hear another person saying how much they love this trilogy. I could have gotten all three books at Paperback Swap, but I didn’t want to use credits on books of which I was uncertain if I would like. From what I’ve heard from everybody, I’m sure I ought to have gotten all of them. Oh, well, you live and learn!

  7. Bookjourney
    December 27, 2009

    Daughter of the Forest looks so good! Hope you enjoy it!

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      Me too!

  8. readwhatyouknow
    December 27, 2009

    I’ve always meant to read the Outlander series — my co-workers rave about it. And it looks so pretty with your holiday lights around it. 😀

    Happy reading!

    • Jenn
      December 28, 2009

      Oh, you ought to read it – count me in as another person who has raved about it (goodness, I think half of my posts have been about the Outlander series – it even has its own category).
      And thank goodness for Picnik, who makes all of my pictures pretty. I don’t know how much time I’ve spent playing around with that site . . .

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2009 by in The Week in Review and tagged , , , .
