Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review (2)

This weekly series is inspired by the In My Mailbox series over at The Story Siren (see link in right sidebar) and chronicles the books I purchased, got from the library or received in the mail throughout the week.  These books will more than likely be reviewed eventually, so be sure to check back later!

Book Mooch

Check out this old school cover. Groovy, isn’t it?

Piemur – Dreamer of Fire Lizards, Apprentice of Drums

Once again Pern was in danger. The air trembled with rumors of deadly Threadfall. And, from within, there was another peril. The restless Oldtimers, who once battled the shimmering Thread, were now banished to the Southern Hold, and breeding rebellion. Piemur, his great singing career thwarted by the changing voice of youth, was now a drum apprentice, his messages sounding from the heights. The wily lad, vowing to help his beloved Pern, would survive Threadfall and acquire, at long last, the little fire lizard of his sun dreams.

The enchanting fantasy begun in Dragonsong and Dragonsinger continues in Dragondrums, the third volume of the Harper Hall trilogy.

 

Paperback Swap

In 1945, Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon – when she innocently touches a boulder in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach – an “outlander” – in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of our Lord . . . 1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire’s destiny is soon inextricably intertwined with Clan MacKenzie and the forbidding Castle Leoch. She is catapulted without warning into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life . . . and shatter her heart. For here, James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a passion so fierce and a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire . . . and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

 

So excited to finally have all four of the non-ridiculous cover version of The Enchanted Forest Chronicles. These books are a hilarious spin on the traditional fairytale outlook on dragons and princesses. I have a big girl crush on Cimorene, let me tell you.

“Mother taught me to be polite to dragons . . .”

Daystar never thought he’d be walking through the Enchanted Forest with a magic sword, a fire-witch, and a baby dragon. He never dreamed his mother, Cimorene, would tell him to leave their home and not to return until his task was complete. Or that he alone held the power to release King Mendanbar and the Enchanted Forest from the wizards’ evil spell. He doesn’t even know who King Mendanbar is.

But Daystar learns quickly – and that’s good, because he’s about to encounter magic and wizards and dragons. Quite a deadly combination.

 

 LibraryThing Early Reviewers

I entered the Early Reviewers program last month and actually was selected for one of their giveaway ARCs. Holy Cow, I couldn’t believe my luck. I never win anything! Woohoo!

Lucy hails from a long line of matchmakers known as Valentine, Inc. According to family legend, the Valentines have been blessed by Cupid with the psychic ability to help couples find true love. Trouble is, Lucy’s powers were zapped away by an electrical surge and now all she can do is find lost objects. What good is that in the matchmaking world? You’d be surprised. In a big city like Boston, love is a mystery – and Lucy’s upstairs neighbor, Sean Donahue, is a hot private eye whose job is murder. With a little luck, she can help solve the perfect crime and find her own perfect match – with Sean.

 

 

 Purchased

Nothing this week, save for the books I bought for my parents for Christmas (The Road and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society – are these any good?). Everyone in my family is getting books for Christmas – except my sister, who got a sweater. Poor sister.

15 comments on “The Week in Review (2)

  1. Milka
    December 20, 2009

    Truly Madly sounds really good! And I love the cover.
    Happy reading and Happy Holidays! 🙂

    • Jenn
      December 20, 2009

      I’m actually really excited to read it since it’s so different from the type of book that I normally read. I think it will be a fun one to read over Christmas break.
      Have a lovely holiday as well!

  2. PolishOutlander
    December 20, 2009

    I love the Outlander series. I actually went out and bought the books with the original illustrated covers since they were SO different from the current editions. Enjoy!

    • Jenn
      December 20, 2009

      I think the majority of my posts here lately have to do with the Outlander series, so you are in good company. I know what you mean about the current editions — they’re maybe a bit more sophisticated, but they aren’t quite as pretty as the original illustrated versions. I’m kind of glad I got the old school covers.

  3. Milka
    December 20, 2009

    Haha, the good thing about the P&P comic book thing is that it is the original story just as a graphic novel. So there are no zombies or Vampires of stuff. I am getting sick with all these new P&P adaptations with different kind of creatures. 🙂

    • Jenn
      December 20, 2009

      I couldn’t agree with you more. Why ruin a good thing by climbing aboard the paranormal bandwagon? I definitely will have to check out the graphic novel, though. It sounds like a different way to help teens to enjoy and understand a classic book.

  4. Kathy Martin
    December 20, 2009

    I really liked Dragondrums and Talking to Dragons. Both are part of my permanent library. I have Outlander somewhere buried deep in my TBR stack too. Congratulations on being selected for an early reviewer book on LibraryThing. I hope you enjoy the book. It looks like fun.

    • Jenn
      December 20, 2009

      I loved all of the Pern books growing up, so it’s been kind of neat revisiting them ten years or so later. I read the first two books in the Enchanted Forest chronicles, but of course my library didn’t have the last two, so I was glad I was able to find them through both of these book swap sites. Now I just have time to read them!

  5. Stephanie
    December 20, 2009

    Truly Madly sounds like a fun read. Enjoy!

    • Jenn
      December 20, 2009

      I am excited to read it. I think it will be a fun read.

  6. Bookjourney
    December 20, 2009

    Wow enjoy the great books!

    • Jenn
      December 20, 2009

      I shall . . . once I find time to read them all ( I have a paper due for class that I have been procrastinating on, but then I am home free for Christmas break and can read as much as I want).

  7. alitareads
    December 21, 2009

    I haven’t read Guernsey, but I gave it to my mom for her birthday last month, and she *loved* it. And my dad was the one who convinced me to read The Road, since he liked it so much. So, good parent choices 🙂

    • Jenn
      December 21, 2009

      You just never know if people will actually like the books you give them as gifts if they haven’t specifically requested them, but that gives me some reassurance that these gifts might actually be a success.

  8. Laura of The Bookie Bunch
    December 23, 2009

    Great books! I have the Outlander series as well…it’s good but sad!

    Here’s what I got this week! http://bookielaura.blogspot.com/2009/12/in-my-mailbox-12-23-09.html

    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

