Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Week in Review (1)

This weekly series is inspired by the In My Mailbox series over at The Story Siren (see link in sidebar) and chronicles the books I purchased, got from the library or received in the mail throughout the week.  These books will more than likely be reviewed eventually, so be sure to check back later!

Paperback Swap

I just recently started an account with Paperback Swap and posted my first ten books, so I could receive my two complimentary credits. I wishlisted a bunch of books and finally was able to get a copy of Voyager by Diana Gabaldon, which will definitely come in handy with the Outlander Reading Challenge. I had the e-book version, but that’s not exactly portable when you don’t have an e-book reader and there’s nothing quite like holding those pages in your hand.

 

 

 

 

 

Book Mooch  

I wanted to clear out my points at Book Mooch and focus on just one book swapping site (I like the features at Paperback Swap just a bit better), so I mooched a bunch of random books. Nancy Bond’s A String in the Harp was one of them (the others have yet to arrive). I discovered this Newbery Honor book  in college and fell in love with it. It has a unique blend of history, fantasy and angsty family drama set against the gorgeous backdrop of both modern (well, it was modern in the 1970s when it was written) and ancient Wales.

 

 

 

Purchase

I discovered Dorothy Dunnett’s The Game of Kings,  the first book of the Lymond Chronicles, on a list of book recs for fans of The Queen’s Thief series and was intrigued. I was at Barnes and Noble yesterday deliberating between this book and Fire by Kristin Cashore, but decided to go with a new (to me) author and the book that wasn’t available at the library. I want to keep it for the 2010 100+ Reading Challenge, but I don’t know if I can wait that long to start reading it. We’ll see if I gain any restraint when it comes to reading material over the course of the next few weeks.

So, what did you all get this week?

Leave a Reply

