Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Teaser Thursday (2): The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley

This passage comes from page 86 of Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown, the book I am currently reading.

“Lady?” one man said hesitantly. “Did you meet the dragon?”

Aerin realized that their silence was uncertainty; she had suddenly feared thatthey would not accept even the gift of dragon-slaying from the daughter of a witch-woman, and she smiled in relief, and the villagers smiled back at her, wonderingly. “Yes, I met your dragon and his mate.” She reached behind her and pulled at the cloth that held the heads, and the heads fell to the ground; one rolled, and the villagers scattered before it as if it still had some power to do them harm.

This is surprisingly my first time reading through The Hero and the Crown, as I’ve read The Blue Sword (which I adore) several times. Aerin seems to be an interesting character so far in my reading. I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you all when I finish.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2009 by in Teaser Thursday and tagged , , .
