Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

Because I obviously have way too much time on my hands . . .

I’m one of those people who likes to have a visual representation of characters while I read a book, so I’ll often save images in a folder on my computer of actors and the like who resemble the characters the way I imagine them. I’ve been quite successful in finding pictures of actors who look like the characters from Outlander the way I imagine them to be (though these may or may not be actors I would pick to play them in a movie), so I thought I’d share them with you all. I also figured that I might as well go all out, so I visited Picnik and created some lovely scrapbook pages for your viewing pleasure. Without further adieu . . .

Jamie and Claire 
 

Jamie has always been Gerard Butler for me, both in looks and in personality, as he has the right height and build, as well as Jamie’s wry smile and sense of humor. He’s also one actor listed here whom I would like to see cast in the movie, should it ever happen. Naysayers have said that Gerard is too old to play a younger Jamie, but I think these pictures (which are from P.S. I Love You) prove that without the scruff and a little longer hair, Gerard still can pull off a youthful character.

Claire is shown here as Lena Headey, who played alongside Gerry in 300 (see lower right – hand corner). I see her more as an older Claire, which is honestly all I can imagine Claire as anymore, as the majority of the books have her in her fourties and fifties.  Lena has the timeless, elegant beauty (in these pictures, anyhow) to pull off a mature Claire, though I see someone like Kate Winslet or Rachel Weisz portraying a younger Claire in the movie.    

Brianna and Roger

My Roger is Henry Cavill, as he has the right height, build, coloring and quiet presence as Roger. I’d cast him on looks alone, for I honestly don’t know much about his acting ability, seeing as the last and only film I saw him in was The Count of Monte Cristo when he was much younger.

This actress, Alicia Witt, is honestly not who I had in mind for my version of Bree. I had some random curly-haired red-headed lass for her, but Picnik didn’t seem to like the photo, so I had to substitute Alicia. She actually bears a striking resemblance to how I pictured Rachel Hunter in book seven before I read a bit closer and realized she was supposed to have dark hair. I can’t seem to get a red-haired Rachel out of my mind now, but what can you do?

Young Ian (and Rollo)

Aww, it’s Ian, my second favorite Outlander guy after Jamie. He’s a bit sassy, has a humorous streak, is bold and brave, but at the same time gentle and considerate. What’s not to love? With his lanky build and long, slightly homely (but endearing) face, French actor Gaspard Ulliel is  just as I imagine Young Ian. Now all the casting directors need to do is find a Scotsman who looks just like him, because can you honestly imagine a Frenchman pulling off a Scots dialect? I didn’t think so.

How could I not include Rollo, Ian’s favorite furry companion? His loyal friend is represented by a random Irish Wolfhound, becuase I couldn’t find a Wolfhound-Wolf cross. Isn’t he a braw, bonny lad, though?

Well, now, wasn’t that a lovely way to waste time? Did I get the images of these characters right? Who are your ideals for the folks of Outlander, both the images of them as you read the book and who you’d like to see cast in the movie? Do leave a comment and let me know.

One comment on “Because I obviously have way too much time on my hands . . .

  1. Mimi
    November 28, 2010

    Love the actors you chose! Gerard would be a great Jamie and Henry Cavill is perfect. The ladies are also lovely.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2009 by in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , .
