Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

Thief‘I can steal anything.’ After Gen’s bragging lands him in the king’s prison, the chances of escape look slim. Then the king’s scholar, the magus, needs the thief’s skill for a seemingly impossible task – to steal a hidden treasure from another land.

To the magus, Gen is just a tool. But Gen is a trickster and a survivor with a plan of his own (Taken from the back cover).

How is it that I have not written about Megan Whalen Turner’s wonderful series up until now? Probably because I am lazy, but we’ll ignore that fact for now.

Before the incredible Jamie Fraser of Outlander fame came along, Gen was my main literary squeeze. I don’t want to give too much away about him, because it’s important to the story, but know that he’d fit right in with my family with that sassy mouth. I love his observations of the other characters and the names he calls the magus’s apprentices (i.e. Useless the Elder and Useless the Younger).

It may not seem like much is going on in the book for a while as this group journeys toward their destination, but this is the introductory book to a series where we get to learn about the characters who will make appearances in the next books, so do pay attention to every detail that Gen shares. I will say that the last section of the book explodes with action and unexpected twists and turns, so don’t get discouraged and put this book down – you will regret it.

I know this doesn’t seem enough to entice you to read The Thief, but dang it, I can’t say too much about a book filled with mystery and intrigue without giving it all away. Just go out and get this book (as well as The Queen of Attolia and The King of Attolia) – you’ll thank me later.

Psst . . . I like chocolate.

Leave a Reply

