Reading Is Good For You

Book Reviews, Literary News, and Thoughts on Life

What I’ve Been Up To Here Lately . . .

Yeah, I’ve been a bit of an absentee here lately, but I do have a good reason (a few actually). It is that time of the school semester where one has about fifty thousand things going on assignment wise and not nearly enough time to complete them. I’ve personally got two group projects and a paper to complete and a technology project for work and I’m about ready to tear my hair out as a result.
Oh, but I have found time to read, thank goodness, and I’ve found an excellent series which I shall share with you all. I’ve been working my way through Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series and if any of you are familiar with these books, then you know why it has taken me so long to get anything posted here about them.
They are massive books — between 800 and 1000 pages a piece — which is good for me, since I can usually breeze through a book in a matter of a couple of hours. It is a bit frustrating contstantly having to be on the look out for new reading material, so I do enjoy Gabaldon’s detailed approach to storytelling. Of course, on the flip side of that, sometimes too many details can bog down the plot a bit (see book five, The Fiery Cross, for the Clan Gathering that just. would. not. end.).
Overall, though, they are grand books with some of my most favorite characters in print today. I’ll be sure to share more details once I finish all of the books, though I will probably just give my overall impression of the series, since I don’t want to give anything away plot wise to new readers. I do hate it when I read a write-up of a book that I have yet to read that is really more of a plot summary than a review. Those types of “reviewers” are a bunch of clot-heids (you’ll learn what that means if you read Outlander) and they make me want to toss a few oaths at them in the Gaidhlig, which you’ll also learn if you read Outlander (aren’t new languages fun?). Anyway, I’ll try not to be that girl . . .

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2009 by in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , .
